Actors/Actresses that Make You Laugh without Even Speaking: How Do They Do It?

There are certain film/television personalities out there that can be in literally anything and I’d still enjoy it. Why? Because they can make me laugh without even opening their glorious mouths.

I call it the ‘Martin Freeman Paradigm‘ and I give a talk on the phenomenon every Tuesday outside of the Museum (for about 5 minutes until I get kicked off the premises, then you can follow me to the local Londis for the conclusion).

So, how did these comedic individuals get to this stage of freakish immortality?

Well, firstly, you need a solid track record of being a funny person. Major players in Hollywood like Jack Black and Will Ferrell have done exactly that. This is how the latter managed to come out of a year that involved ‘Daddy’s Home’ and ‘Get Hard’ without people throwing rotten fruit at him on the street. He’s just too gosh darn lovable.

Secondly, you need to look like some guy the movie producers dragged off the street and on to the set. Take our titular friend Martin Freeman for example — he always looks confused, out of place, and thus relatable. In fact, the only time he has really fitted into place was in ‘The Hobbit’ movies, where smoking a pipe on a bench in the Shire was a look that really suited him (and made him even funnier!)

Thirdly, you still need to utilise that voice. Yes, I know, I’m talking about not having to open one’s mouth — but if you’ve followed the first two tips correctly then you’ll find yourself in a place where you can do voice work (Kristen Schaal and Aziz Ansari are prime examples) and people will imagine your face and laugh. That’s transcendence y’all.

Finally, don’t just take it from me, here’s Dr. Cinephile of the University of Shugborough to give us an even deeper insight…

Dr. Cinephile:

“The guy that kidnapped me from my laboratory and brought me here is right. Our tests show that 97% of people have experienced the ‘Martin Freeman Paradigm’ and it is now considered to be a leading cause of bowel cancer.”

Wow, jesus, what a nerd. Remind me never to talk to you again.

So there you have it, a brief overview of my work, which was robbed of a Nobel Prize last year (it’s all politics I tell ya). Join me next time on ‘A Crazy Person is Given a Soapbox’ when I’ll be exploring the art of Animal Sidekicks in Cinema.

Leave a Reply

